Category: Ingredients

AdditivesIngredients

Is Bread Halal?

Is Bread Halal? In making bread, yeast is required so that the dough can expand. Yeast is usually added after the flour is mixed with water and then stirred evenly. After that, the dough is left for a few hours. Yeast itself is a microorganism, a small living creature, and usually of the type of…

Read More
GMOIngredients

The Ruling on GMO

The 95th Discourse of the Fatwa Committee of the National Fatwa Council for Islamic Religious Affairs Malaysia convened on 16th-18th June 2011 and discussed the Ruling on the Consumption of Genetically Modified Food. The Discourse made the following decisions: After listening to the briefing and explanation from Y. Bhg. Prof. Dato’ Dr. Yaakob Che Man,…

Read More
AdditivesIng2

Food Colouring E120 – Carmine

Cochineal Carmine (/ˈkɑrmɪn/ or /ˈkɑrmaɪn/), also called a crimson lake, cochineal, natural red 4, C.I. 75470, or E120, is a pigment of a bright-red color obtained from the aluminum salt of carminic acid; it is also a general term for a particularly deep-red color of the same name. The pigment is produced from some scale…

Read More