Category: Research

High Risk Ingredients

The following High-Risk Additives and Enzymes ingredient that may require Halal Certification or Vegetarian Approved Stamp.  High-Risk Additives: E101 1) Riboflavin 2) Riboflavin-5′- Phosphate” E418 Gellan Gum E422 Glycerol / Glycerine / Glycerin E432 Polysorbate 20 E433 Polysorbate 80 E434 Polysorbate 40...

/ August 1, 2017

Why Halal Slaughtering is humane?

Lately, there is no mystery on mistreatment of animals done by anyone including a Muslim. It is a behaviour that violates the normative rules, understandings, expectations of the religion itself. Islam and Halal is a system, a global faith and...

/ December 1, 2016

Top Halal Research and Innovation

This list is a personal compilation. It does not refer to any awards or ratings. The list priorities the impact on the Muslim world since the 70s. No 1 Halal Products Research Institute (HPRI), Universiti Putra Malaysia The establishment of...

/ June 6, 2016

Between Synthetic Alcohol and Fermented Alcohol, which one is allowed for Halal industry?

Khamr is intoxicating liquor prepared for anything which befogs the mind. All alcoholic drinks, beer, wine, gin, whisky, rum, vodka, tequila, moonshine, etc., are Khamr. The word khamr occurs six times in the Quran, once in subjective case (5:90), twice...

/ January 29, 2016

Are all Juices naturally Halal?

Enzyme treatment* An enzyme step is not employed if the end product desired is a cloudy or “natural” looking apple juice. Otherwise, after juice extraction, the raw apple juice must be treated with enzymes to remove suspended solid materials. If...

/ January 22, 2016

Halal Education

Post Graduate in Halal Education Malaysia 1. Master of Arts in Halal Industry Management (MAHIM-International Islamic University) Full Time. Opened for International Students. 2. Master of Science in Halal Industry Science (MAHIM-International Islamic University) Full Time. Opened for International Students. 3. PHD in...

/ December 15, 2015

Is Bread Halal?

In making bread, yeast is required so that the dough can expand. Yeast is usually added after the flour mixed with water and then stirred evenly. After that, the dough left for a few hours. Yeast itself is actually a...

/ February 8, 2015

Why Truffle needs to be Halal certified? and the difference with Chocolate Truffle

TruffleFood A truffle is the fruiting body of a subterranean Ascomycete fungus, predominantly one of the many species of the genus Tuber. Some of the truffle species are highly prized as a food. Wikipedia Truffles are a fungus that grow...

/ February 3, 2015

The Ruling on Consumption of Genetically Modified Food

The 95th Discourse of the Fatwa Committee of the National Fatwa Council for Islamic Religious Affairs Malaysia convened on 16th-18th June 2011 had discussed the Ruling on Consumption of Genetically Modified Food. The Discourse made the following decisions: After listening...

/ January 27, 2015

Food Colouring (cochineal) in Islam

Mexican Cochineal Carmine (/ˈkɑrmɪn/ or /ˈkɑrmaɪn/), also called crimson lake, cochineal, natural red 4, C.I. 75470, or E120, is a pigment of a bright-red color obtained from the aluminium salt of carminic acid; it is also a general term for...

/ January 26, 2015