Category: Pork

Halal chocolate: Pork DNA detected in imported confectionery in Bangladesh, researchers call for tighter guidelines

Pork DNA has been found in two confectionery products in Bangladesh, according to a study analysing 42 imported confectionery samples purchased from the Dhaka region. The confectionery samples were mainly chocolate (milk, dark or flavoured), candy and ice cream, from...

/ 2 March 2022

High Risk Ingredients

The following High-Risk Additives and Enzymes ingredient that may require Halal Certification or Vegetarian Approved Stamp.  High-Risk Additives: E101 1) Riboflavin 2) Riboflavin-5′- Phosphate” E418 Gellan Gum E422 Glycerol / Glycerine / Glycerin E432 Polysorbate 20 E433 Polysorbate 80 E434 Polysorbate 40...

Why is eating pork‬ is forbidden in ‪Islam‬

There are many forms of tapeworm, three of which can readily infect the brain. From a public health perspective, there is one, in particular, to watch out for. “It is mainly the pork tapeworm that’s the main brain one,” says...

/ 26 January 2015