Category: Ingredients

List of Permissible and Not Halal of Land and Aquatic Animal

(i) Halal – Permissible To Consume (ii) Not Halal – Impermissible to consume This list is based on the School of Shafi’i opinion or equivalent. (i) Halal – Permissible To Consume Addax Albatross Alpaca Anglerfish Antelope Argali Barracuda Birds without...

/ February 18, 2016

Between Synthetic Alcohol and Fermented Alcohol, which one is allowed for Halal industry?

Khamr is intoxicating liquor prepared for anything which befogs the mind. All alcoholic drinks, beer, wine, gin, whisky, rum, vodka, tequila, moonshine, etc., are Khamr. The word khamr occurs six times in the Quran, once in subjective case (5:90), twice...

/ January 29, 2016

Can Wagyu Beef and Kobe Beef be certified as Halal?

What is Wagyu beef? “Wagyu” literally means “Japanese cattle.” Wagyu beef comes from the four main breeds of cattle in Japan: Japanese Black, Japanese Brown, Japanese Poll and Japanese Shorthorn, as well as crossbreeds that result from interbreeding among those...

/ January 21, 2016

Is Bread Halal?

In making bread, yeast is required so that the dough can expand. Yeast is usually added after the flour mixed with water and then stirred evenly. After that, the dough left for a few hours. Yeast itself is actually a...

/ February 8, 2015

Why Truffle needs to be Halal certified? and the difference with Chocolate Truffle

TruffleFood A truffle is the fruiting body of a subterranean Ascomycete fungus, predominantly one of the many species of the genus Tuber. Some of the truffle species are highly prized as a food. Wikipedia Truffles are a fungus that grow...

/ February 3, 2015

The Ruling on Consumption of Genetically Modified Food

The 95th Discourse of the Fatwa Committee of the National Fatwa Council for Islamic Religious Affairs Malaysia convened on 16th-18th June 2011 had discussed the Ruling on Consumption of Genetically Modified Food. The Discourse made the following decisions: After listening...

/ January 27, 2015

Food Colouring (cochineal) in Islam

Mexican Cochineal Carmine (/ˈkɑrmɪn/ or /ˈkɑrmaɪn/), also called crimson lake, cochineal, natural red 4, C.I. 75470, or E120, is a pigment of a bright-red color obtained from the aluminium salt of carminic acid; it is also a general term for...

/ January 26, 2015