Various challenges in the food industry contributed to – The Future of Halal Industry Conformity.


1. Limitation of existing Legislation? The reason why Lab analysis/verification important

The requirement of a recognised Halal certificate for the High-Risk ingredient is vital due to several reasons including the possible source of animal, shared processes (with non-Halal) and gaps of regulatory on processing aids, prescriptive substances. For non-certified product lab analysis become greater due to the gaps in the European or UK Law. Some of these are not declared in European ruling:

Food with animal risk or Hidden Food; and GMO:


 Article 20
 Omission of constituents of food from the list of ingredients

 Without prejudice to Article 21, the following constituents of food shall not be required to be included in the list of ingredients:
(a) the constituents of an ingredient which have been temporarily separated during the manufacturing process and later reintroduced but not in excess of their original proportions;
(b) food additives and food enzymes:
(i) whose presence in a given food is solely due to the fact that they were contained in one or more ingredients of that food, in accordance with the carry-over principle referred  to in points (a) and (b) of Article 18(1) of Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008, provided that they serve no technological function in the finished product; or
(ii) which are used as processing aids; 
(c) carriers and substances which are not food additives but are used in the same way and with the same purpose as carriers, and which are used in the quantities strictly necessary; (alcohol used in food for extraction and carrier is part of processing aid)
(d) substances which are not food additives but are used in the same way and with the same purpose as processing aids and are still present in the finished product, even if in an altered form;


Content and presentation
Article 9
List of mandatory particulars

Article 9
1. In accordance with Articles 10 to 35 and subject to the exceptions contained in this Chapter, indication of the following particulars shall be mandatory:
(k) with respect to beverages containing more than 1,2 % by volume of alcohol, the actual alcoholic strength by volume;


          • The key ingredient to watch out for in cheese is animal rennet. Food labelling laws in the UK mean that labels do not always require processing agents to be listed, of which animal rennet is one. Rennet is an enzyme used to set cheese during the making process. Stirred into a vat of cultured milk, it causes the milk to coagulate and separate into solids (curds) and liquid (whey). The curds are turned into cheese. There are two main types of rennet, animal rennet and vegetarian rennet. – Quoted from Vegetarian Society, UK
          • Manufacturers are not required by law to label products for vegetarians. If they do apply labels, they do so voluntarily. This is why labelling can be inconsistent and unclear. Look for a ‘suitable for vegetarians’ or ‘V’ label to be sure a product is veggie-friendly. – Quoted from Vegetarian Society, UK
          • Some British Protected Designation of Origin (PDO) and Protected Geographical Indication (PGI) cheeses are not always suitable for vegetarians. They include Beacon Fell traditional Lancashire Cheese, Dorset Blue, Dovedale Blue, Orkney Scottish Island Cheddar, Single Gloucester, Staffordshire cheese, Swaledale cheese, Swaledale ewes cheese, Traditional Ayrshire Dunlop, Traditional Welsh Caerphilly and Yorkshire Wensleydale. – Quoted from Vegetarian Society, UK
          • Editor: There are some ruling of scholar that Cheese using Halal animal is allowed even they are not slaughtered. However, animal rennet from pig / porcine is forbidden. So watch for Recognised Halal certificate or send the sample for DNA Analysis.

First, we talk about animal derivatives that are commonly not permissible unless they are Halal certified.

Therefore, the current approach that is considered authoritative is through laboratory analysis. An analysis protocol that must be accredited with accreditations such as ISO 17025 (General requirements for the competence of testing and calibration laboratories). This type of verification should also help other dietary needs e.g for vegetarian and other ethnicity who treat land animals as critical. This technique is also synonym with Halal certification validation process.

To detect animal traces the selection of a laboratory must:

    • Be accredited for DNA (deoxyribonucleic acid or nucleic acid) analysis protocol based such as PCR (Polymerase chain reaction). The leading accredited laboratories are such as Halvec, Eurofinn (i.e. France and Germany), SGS, Mérieux,  etc.
    • The method-specific limit of detection (mLOD) is <0.01% or <10 DNA copies for 3 animal species (Sus scrofa-porcine, Bos Taurus-cattle and Oval ovaries-sheep) in making Halal integrity is completely verified.
    • Find the accredited laboratories here.

Secondly, when comes to alcohol 1.2% in European standard, it is perceived as too high alcohol level for Halal standards.

      • Accredited or not, ethanol analysis is quite basic in the industry such as Gas Chromatography System (GCS)
      • The parameter must be below 0.1% (LoQ) for detection.
      • In some sectorials of Islamic view, the use of ethanol is permitted depending on the purpose. It is allowed if it is used for cleaning, hand swab, medical procedure and killing bacteria. Also in a raw state, some ingredients require ethanol as a carrier agent as a form of anti microbes growth. But the source of ethanol must not come from khamr production such as consumer-alcoholic. There is an approved source of ethanol that are produced by food, medical or pharmaceutical producers. The manufacturer needs to make sure all consumable product ethanol does not exceed 0.1% according to an international fatwa (Malaysia, JAKIM). A fatwa is an Islamic legal pronouncement, issued by an expert in religious law (mufti). | Related article.

2. More topics will be presented……..



Posted by Rohaizad

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.